Ah yes, the 2015 ACC Men’s Lacrosse Playoffs have been announced.

Notre Dame vs. Duke

Syracuse vs. North Carolina

To be played this weekend…in Philadelphia! I’m no cartographer, but none of these schools are located in Pennsylvania. Syracuse, probably the closest, is around a what 4-5 hour drive. Duke and UNC are more like 8-10 hours. And ND, I don’t even want to guess.

Two of the teams are located in central NC, 8 miles from each other. In terms of the university calendar winding down, does it make sense to have these student-athletes head up to Philadelphia on Wednesday or Thursday and return late Sunday or Monday? Why not have it at a neutral site in central NC?

I shouldn’t care, as I know the world, and the NCAA, are all about money and not what makes sense. But this is fucking stupid. If even the lowly sport of Division I lacrosse, which I played, is now corrupted and driven by money, it only makes me shake my head to consider how dirty the football and basketball “amateur” sports the NCAA oversees have become by 2015. Disgusting.

