A cycling pal today mentioned there was a big college football game on tonight, two highly ranked teams in the same conference. I thought about meeting him out at a bar to see it, but I think the football-crazed crowd would have appalled me.

I decided to tune in and watch online. I made it exactly one minute and twenty-two seconds before I was bored. Florida State scored, the play was controversial, the announcers prattled on and on about whether or not it was a touchdown, and then the went to commercials. Commercials about automobiles and cell phones.

What a fucking boring sport. There is far, far more dead air than action.

To top it off, most of the “scholar-athletes” are getting paid illegally and the coaching staff, and athletic department is in on the heist.

I got one, then two big middle fingers for the sport of American football.

