As a cyclist the single biggest drawback of my sport, hobby, and passion is that I have to “share” the roadways with aggressive, dangerous, incapable, and distracted drivers. It’s really a shame. In a perfectly world I would be able to catch up with some of the drivers who nearly hit me, or even just drive in such a way as they scare me half to death, and have this conversation in a calm manner.

Me: What do you like to do for fun or leisure or exercise?

Them: Play golf, shoot a few baskets at the park, go for a walk in the woods, do yoga. (these are just a few examples)

Me: GREAT! Those are all really, really enjoyable. Now, imagine if just about every time you went out of your house to pursue that activity your life was threatened and someone nearly killed you because they were playing with a mobile phone.

Them: Hmm…

I have considered giving up on cycling. But, I love it for sport & I honestly could not handle commuting by automobile. Thus, I must keep on. I’ve already been hit by drivers piloting their cars in illegal manners twice. The good fight must go on.

I’ll leave you with two questions:

While I think the current debate about gun laws is important and long overdue, what about the debate about automobile laws, access, and rights? America is quickly being destroyed by an unsustainable lifestyle and a major part of this is the reliance on automobiles for transportation.

Secondly, what else is texting while driving a deadly, two-thousand pound machine through a busy intersection than reckless, negligent and extremely selfish?

I see cars & mobile phones intimately connected as we devolve into an increasingly selfish nation of individuals who feel empowered, yet are too distracted and too poorly socially adjusted to connect with many of those around them.

I hope to live to see the day when we overcome the isolation I now see as a result of technology. And the selfishness. But, I’m not all that hopeful.

